Types of Siamese Cats

Types of Siamese Cats

Siamese cats come from the ancient Kingdom of Siam (currently Thailand), where it's said that this breed could only be owned by royalty. Fortunately, this excellent and beautiful pet can now be enjoyed by any cat lover. While there are many variations of the Siamese cat, this often has to do with their coat coloring. This does not necessarily mean all these types of Siamese cat are recognized by breed organizations. We help by explaining all the different types and variations of Siamese cats along with their different coat colors.

AnimalWised will tell you of the different types of Siamese cats and contemporary Thai cats. We provide pictures so you can help recognize what type of Siamese cat you may have in your family.

How many types of Siamese cats are there?

Depending on where you look, people may claim there are as many as 9 types of Siamese cat. However, there are only two types of Siamese cat which are officially recognized. They are:

  • Traditional Siamese: these cats have a rounded head and have a body shape more common to most domestic cat breeds. Their eyes are round and deep. However, they still have distinct features which separate them from other breeds of cat. They have large triangular ears which give them a very distinctive look.
  • Modern Siamese: the modern style has been developed thanks to a desire to exaggerate certain features. Their eyes are almond shaped and their entire head is triangular, not just their ears. For this reason, Modern Siamese cats are sometimes known as ‘Wedge Head’ cats and ‘Wedgies’. Their ears are even longer than that of even the Traditional Siamese and their entire body is elongated. They are lean and muscular, with relatively little fat on their body.

However, we might be able to go further and claim there is actually only one type of Siamese cat, the Modern Siamese. The reason for this is because the Traditional Siamese has recently been re-classified by many breed organizations as the Thai cat. They are sometimes known as the Wichien Maat or Old-Style Siamese. This is simply as a way to differentiate between the two cats which, despite the same origins, have developed quite different appearances.

Siamese cats and their personality

A common physical feature of all types of Siamese cats is their spectacular bright blue eyes. Siamese cats are also noteworthy for their cleanliness and how affectionate they are to people around them. They are even tremendously patient and proactive with children.

Siamese cats are known for being very vociferous. They will regularly make noises to attract the attention of their human guardians. They have a particular low-pitched sound known as a ‘meezer’. Both Thai and Siamese cats have very affectionate personalities and they are very playful. They are also very intelligent and have been known to learn tricks.

For their intelligence, strong bonding to humans, playfulness and other reasons, the Siamese cat is thought of as being a cat with a ‘dog-like’ personality.

Colors of Siamese cats

Apart from the shape and differentiation of Siamese cats, the different types of Siamese cats are mainly distinguished by their color. Both Traditional and Modern Siamese cats have the ability to develop the same colorations and patterns of fur. Specifically, they both share the seal-point coloration gene which partly gives them their distinctive appearance.

The colors of their coat can range from creamy white to dark brownish-grey. However, they always display a particular characteristic in their face, ears, feet and tail which makes them stand out from other breeds of cat. This is what is caused by the seal-point gene. The body temperature in the extremities is lower, and the hair of Siamese cats is much darker in these places, ranging from almost black to solid black. This, combined with their blue eyes, clearly sets them apart from other breeds.

Seal-point variations are not visible in many other types of cat. The Himalayan is a breed of cat which has seal-point patterns, but only because they derive from a crossing of the Siamese with Persian cats.

Here we'll explain the different colorations of Siamese cats:

Light-colored Siamese cats

  • Lilac point is the light grey Siamese cat. This beautiful color is very common, but it should be noted that the fur of Siamese cats darkens with age.
  • Cream point is the cat with cream-colored or light orange fur. Cream or ivory fur is more common than orange. Many kittens are very white when they're born, but their color changes after just three months.
  • Chocolate point is the light brown Siamese cat.

Dark-colored Siamese cats

  • Seal point is the dark brown Siamese cat.
  • Blue point is the term given to Siamese cats with a dark grey coat.
  • Red point Siamese cats have dark orange coats. This is a very unusual color in Siamese cats.

Variants of the standard colors

There are two further types of variations in Siamese cats:

  • Tabby point refers to Siamese cats of any the above colors who exhibit a striped, tabby pattern in their fur.
  • Tortie point is the name given to the Siamese cats with reddish spots, which is why said coat is referred to as "tortoiseshell".

Adult Siamese cats and kittens

For all of the above different types and colors of Siamese and Thai cats, their body generally remains the same color. This is pure white or cream. Only the extremities will have the different colorations. It will be difficult to determine what color of adult cat you will have since all Siamese cats are born either white or cream. It is only when they age that the seal-point coloration becomes apparent.

Whether an adult or kitten, if you have decided to adopt a Siamese cat into your family, our article on common diseases of Siamese cats should help you to look after them as best you can.

If you want to read similar articles to Types of Siamese Cats, we recommend you visit our Comparisons category.